"The socio-economics of adaptation in EU fisheries:
Lessons from the new Common Fisheries Policy and beyond..."

25th-27th April 2017 - Dublin Castle

Download the programm:

BIM_EAFE_programme_April,13,2017BIM EAFE programme 2017

The XXIIIrd Conference of the European Association of Fisheries Economists (EAFE) will be held at Dublin Castle from the 25th to 27th April 2017.  
Hosted by the Fisheries Economics Group of Bord Iascaigh Mhara, the Irish Sea Fisheries Board, the conference is intended to provide a forum for the dissemination of recent advances in capture fisheries and aquaculture economics and management to promote discussion amongst researchers, managers, policy makers and other stakeholders in the fisheries sector.
  The conference intends to assess the socio-economic impact of the initial introduction of management measures from the most recent Common Fishery Policy (CFP) in order to find examples of best-practice in adapting to the new institutional setting within EU fisheries.The conference will contain a number of special sessions focussing on ‘the bioeconomics of gear selectivity adaptation and the Landing Obligation’, ‘the effectiveness of the EMFF’, ‘the valuation of European small-scale fisheries’, ‘the need for integrated advice and transdisciplinarity’ and ‘progress on the Galway Statement on Atlantic Ocean Cooperation’. Abstracts are invited from all interested parties in Europe and further afield for all special sessions and general themes.  

Keynote Speakers

Day 1: TBA Day 2: Professor Daniel Bromley on the topic of ‘options for access to—and sustainability of—fish stocks’ Day 3:   Professor Ragnar Arnason on the topic of ‘fishing rights’  

Scientific Committee

Richard Curtin, Emmet Jackson (Bord Iascaigh Mhara), Leyre Goti (Thunen Institute of Sea Fisheries), Bertrand Le Gallic (Université de Bretagne Occidentale), Raul Prellezo (AZTI-Tecnalia), Maria Cozzolino (NISEA)    

Organising Committee

Emmet Jackson, Richard Curtin, Deirdre Moore, Michael Keatinge, Kathy Cullimore.   Please visit the conference website for registration details: www.bim.ie/eafe For more information contact us at eafe@bim.ie